Any fans of My Neighbor Totoro here? It's such a beautiful movie, and my family loved it, so I decided that I would make a painting from My Neighbor Totoro, for my mom, as a gift for her birthday (which was yesterday).

Any fans of My Neighbor Totoro here? It's such a beautiful movie, and my family loved it, so I decided that I would make a painting from My Neighbor Totoro, for my mom, as a gift for her birthday (which was yesterday).

Some thoughts on my painting:

It was easy​ to paint with watercolour this time, I really enjoyed it and it went pretty quick. When I got started on the drawing, I first thought of making the whole background, but then I decided to only do it until the first row of trees, to give it a more simple look. When I coloured the characters, I made them all with markers, but after I didn't have any grey, so I used watercolour to make the big Totoro. To me, he looks better with paint, so I kind of wish that I would have made all the characters with paint, but I can't change it, and they don't look too bad this way either.

I love to paint with watercolour! It's my favorite kind of paint. One of my great uncles taught me and my siblings how to paint with it, when we were little; and I think that it must have been his favorite kind of paint too.

Don't you think the Totoros are cute? I especially think that the big Totoro is!

#Drawing from reference

Back to home page